WNBA Now In Its 7th Season

In 1996, the NBA Board of Governors approved the concept of a WBNA  (Women’s National Basketball Association). The following year, the WNBA has its 1st season that included 8 teams, all of which drafted Olympian and collegiate stars. Throughout the course of the WNBA, the size of the league and depth of talent has expanded. (For a full timeline of the history of the WNBA, go here: http://www.wnba.com/about_us/wnba_history_timeline_2012_04_30.html).

Now in its 7th Season, the WNBA has 12 teams that are split into 2 Conferences: West and East. All team franchises are American, so for anyone living in Canada, you’ll have to travel to see games live (which would be an amazing sports road-trip experience, no doubt). However, if travel is not possible, the WNBA streams its games online, which you can get access to by subscribing.

Recently, the WNBA announced a new platform that celebrates LGBT inclusion and equity. It’s called WNBA Pride and its goal is to celebrate LGBT players, staff, coaches, family, and community, while also combating anti-LGBT policy and bias. Check out WNBA Pride online to see their top stories and events — it’s a very cool initiative and much-needed.